[FULL LIST]: Nomfundo Moh, Sun-El Musician, Yvonne Chaka Chaka and more bag #SAMA28 awards

From spectacular collaborations and performances to emotional acceptance speeches and moments of victory, the first night of the #SAMA28 weekend held in Sun City tonight, was nothing short of amazing.


Among some of the most popular winners was sultry vocalist Nomfundo Moh. She scooped the Best Afro Pop Album award for Amagama which spawned crowd favourites Phakade Lami and Soft Life.

Chymamusique claimed his first SAMA when he was awarded the Best Dance Album for Musique. Msaki clinched the Best Adult Contemporary Album forPlatinumb Heart Open. Dladla Mshunqisi’s Umshunqo Reloaded earned him the Best Gqom Album award, while Amarato claimed the Best Kwaito Album for Ama Roto Vol.2. Sun-El Musician and Azana walked away with the Remix of the Year for Uhuru.


Mandisi Dyantyis triumphed in the Best African Adult Contemporary Album for Cwaka. Thokozani Langa took the Best Maskandi Album Award for Idayimani while Young Stunna bagged the Best Selling Artist gong for Notumato. Ahead of being bestowed with the Lifetime Achievement Award tomorrow, Jimmy Dludlu won the Best Jazz Album.

Princess of Africa, Yvonne Chaka Chaka, was honoured with the inaugural Chairman’s Award for her unique and outstanding contribution to the growth, success and sustainability of the music industry. Her tireless work to support the industry’s efforts in combating the negative elements of the proposed Copyright Amendment Bill and her charitable service to The Angel Foundation were also recognised with this award.


The proudly South African award ceremony was presented by the energetic duo of comedian Mpho Popps and musician Robot Boii who kept audiences engaged and entertained in a show that was streamed on TikTok and YouTube.

Performances varied from the sublime to high energy swashbuckling moves from the likes of Master KG, Khuli Chana, Brian Temba, Puleng March, Ncebakazi Msomi, Reign Afrika, Mobi Dixon and Joda Kgosi.

Wouter Kellerman and Mandisi Dyantyis were ethereal in the In Memoriam tribute. Joe Nina, who will be presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award at tonight’s SAMA Night 2 was part of the performances.

RiSA CEO Nhlanhla Sibisi commented: “We are immensely proud of the recipients of these technical excellence awards. Their hard work and dedication to their craft has been acknowledge. We are incredibly excited about the main awards set for 28 August 2022 and look forward to celebrating with South African music lovers.”


Complete list of winners:

Best Classical/Instrumental Album African Bird by Khanyisile Mthetwa

Best Adult Contemporary Album Platinumb Heart Open by Msaki

Best African Adult Contemporary Album Cwaka by Mandisi Dyantyis

Beste Kontemporere Musiek Album Volume by Die Heuwels Fantasties

Best Traditional Album Tshihwilili Tshanga by Dr Mercy Masekona Madzivhandila

Best Reggae Album Trailblazer by Reign Africa

Best Jazz Album History in a Frame by Jimmy Dludlu

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album Sacrificial Worship (Live) by Pulane Maphari

Best Traditional Faith Music Album Vela Nkosi by Jumbo

Best African Indigenous Faith Music Album Siilapha Nkosi by NUZ Voices of Joy

Best Maskandi Album Idayimani by Thokozani Langa

Best Alternative Album Glow by Alice Phoebe Lou

Best Rock Album Partypocalpypse by Springbok Nude Girls

Best R&B/Soul Album It’s All You by Brian Temba

Best Pop Album Trouble in Paradise by Shekhinah

Beste Pop Album Niks Vergelyk by Posduif

Best Afropop Album Amagama by Nomfundo Moh

Best Produced Music Video When House was House by Mobi Dixon feat. Mariechan and Jnr SA

Best Engineered Album of The Year It Takes Three by Charl du Plessis Trio

Best Selling Artist Notumato by Young Stunna

Rest Of Africa Award If Orange Was a Place by Tems

Chairman’s Award Yvonne Chaka Chaka

Remix Of the Year Uhuru by Sun-El Musician and Azana

Best Kwaito Album Ama Roto Vol.2 by Amaroto

Best Gqom Album Umshunqo Reloaded by Dladla Mshunqisi

Best Dance Album Musique by Chymamusique


Images: SAMAs

Please follow and like us:

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *