Nominations for inaugural Basadi in Music Awards (BIMA) closing soon

Nominations for the first Basadi in Music Awards will officially close on Thursday, 19 May 2022.

These awards, launched at a star-studded affair on International Women’s Day (8 March 2022), are a celebration of female excellence within the music industry. The public has been encouraged to SMS the category code and their nominee to 49960 by midnight 19 May 2022 e.g. AMAPIANO Brenda. Each SMS is at a cost of R2 with no limit to the amount of times the public can nominate their favourites.

The nominated musicians must have released new music between 1 April 2021 and 30 April 2022.


Short-listed nominees across the 23 categories will be announced in June 2022 after which the public will be able to vote for their favourites to win. The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony scheduled for August 2022 to coincide with Women’s Month.

Hloni Modise Matau, founder and CEO of BIMA commented: “We have received thousands of nominations thus far which is immensely exciting particularly because this is the inaugural Basadi in Music Awards. Seeing the calibre of nominations, this will undoubtedly be a celebration of women in music who have burst through glass ceilings and inspired thousands. We want to provide the best platform for acknowledging these women and we call on the public to help us do so by nominating their favourite women in music.”

Tiyani Maluleke, Chief Marketing Officer of SAMPRA remarked: “We are delighted that the Basadi in Music Awards entries are open to the public to nominate their favourite female artists that are taking up space in the music industry. Female representation in the music industry matters and we congratulate BIMA for creating such a platform that aims to acknowledge female creatives and their musical talents.”


Below is the full list of categories and codes:

  1. Artist of the Year (ARTIST)
  2. Rap/Hip Hop Artist of the Year (RAP)
  3. Gospel Artist of the Year (GOSPEL)
  4. Kwaito Artist of the Year (KWAITO)
  5. SAMPRA Amapiano Artist of the Year (AMAPIANO)
  6. Dance Artist of the Year (DANCE)
  7. Afro Pop Artist of the Year (AFROPOP)
  8. Jazz Artist of the Year (JAZZ)
  9. Newcomer of the Year (NEWCOMER)
  10.  Entertainment Radio Presenter (ENTERT)
  11. DJ of the Year (DJ)
  12. Pop artist of the Year (POP)
  13. Kontemporêre kunstenaar van die Jaar (KONTEMP)
  14. Traditional Artist of the Year (TRADITIONAL)
  15. Gqom Artist of the Year (GQOM)
  16. Song of the Year (SONG)
  17. Music TV Show presenter of the Year (SHOW)
  18. Entertainment Journalist of the Year (JOURNO)
  19. Social Media Influencer of the Year (SOCIAL)
  20. Music Video Director of the Year (VIDEO)
  21. Songwriter of the Year (SONGWRITER)
  22. Stylist of the Year (STYLIST)
  23. Entertainment radio producer (PRODUCER) 

Further information as well as terms and conditions can be found at www.basadiinmusicawards.co.za.



Image: Supplied

Please follow and like us:

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *