Karim Benzema and Alexia Putella Win Big at 2022 Ballon d’Or Awards

The Ballon d’Or has been on everyone’s lip since the top 10 list was released on 17 October 2022 but what is the Ballon d’Or without drama? What shocked football fans about the list is that Christiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi are not in the top 10.

Real Madrid’s Karim Benzema took home the coveted Ballon d’Or award, a first for the 34 year old.

In 2021, Messi won the Ballon d’Or award, making it his record breaking 7th win. However this year he did not finish in podium place which was a slight shocker for fans of the most decorated football stars.

Barcelona FC star player, Alexia Putella won the Ballon d’Or female award for the second consecutive time.

The prestigious awards were hosted in Paris on Monday evening, 17 October 2022.

Here’s the full list of the winners:

1. 2022 Ballon d’Or Award: Karim Benzema
2. 2022 Ballon d’Or Award (Female): Alexia Putellas
3. Lev Yashin Trophy: Thibaut Courtois
4. Kopa Trophy: Pablo Martin Paez Gavira
5. Gerd Muller Award: Robert Lewandoski
6. Socrates Award: Sadio Mane
7. Club of the year: Manchester City

2022 Ballon d’Or Top 10 Males Rankings

1. Karim Benzema
2. Sadio Mane
3. Kevin De Bruyne
4. Robert Lewandoski
5. Mohammed Salah
6. Kylian Mbappe
7. Thibaut Courtois
8. Vinicius Jnr
9. Luka Modric
10. Erling Haaland

Follow @orgellaent on social media for more updates 

Sports writer: Buyeleni Sibanyoni

Images: Karim Benzema, Barcelona FC, Thibaut Courtois and Manchester City Twitter accounts

Please follow and like us:

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *